Flat Hunting, Day 1.

The last few days have been a bit exhausting. I left work around 7:30pm last night. I was so tired—all I wanted was to go home, eat some instant noodles and watch a movie. Which I did. And it was great.

I got the day off today solely for flat hunting. I’ve been pretty excited to see Sheung Wan so that was my first stop. However, I knew it wasn’t the place for me right when I set foot onto the street. It looked a lot more commercial than I had expected so I knew it would be expensive. In Hong Kong, the fastest and easiest way to find a place is to get an agent. There are always several real estate agencies located right next to the MTR stations. I went into the first one I came across. The agent wasn’t too friendly with me and there weren’t any apartments available for the price I want. I decided to skip all the neighborhoods near Central and start at Fortress Hill, which is two stops away from Causeway Bay and what I believed would be the first stop that moves away from the business district of Hong Kong. Hence, more places within my budget.

Fortress Hill was a no-go: nothing for less than $1,000 USD. The agent was friendly and suggested I look for places in Chai Wan, which is the last stop on the MTR and the furthest away from the city. However, I felt I could do better and a nagging feeling kept whispering, “North Point, go to North Point!” so I listened to that. When I’m alone, my intuition is loud and clear.

Sure enough, I was able to see two places in North Point, which is just three stops from Causeway Bay. It is a common thing in Hong Kong to convert full-sized apartments into several small studio apartments. The first place I saw was still under construction, but all the studios looked really nice and had big windows and ample floor space. However, they wouldn’t be available for another month and would probably cost around $7,000 HKD, which is about $900 USD. The next place I looked at was much smaller but completely finished and furnished. I was looking at $5,000 HKD/$644 USD. That’s pretty good; I really expected that I would be paying a lot more. When my agent and I got back to the office, he spoke with the landlord and was able to drop the fee down to $4900. Yay!

When it comes to real estate in Hong Kong, I’ve been told that if you see something you like, take is ASAP because it could be gone within the hour. I ran into problems paying the deposit so I panicked, but thankfully, the agent will let me come in tomorrow to handle it. I get nervous when things aren’t “confirmed” so I’m afraid I might lose it tomorrow. I shouldn’t, but we’ll see.

I had been running around all day and literally lost track of time because my phone’s clock got reset so the time was incorrect. It was only 2:30pm when I arrived home. Again, I got so much done within two hours. Now I’m tired and ready for a nap!

2 responses to “Flat Hunting, Day 1.

    • Of course! I’ll try to get some pictures this weekend if I’m not too preoccupied with moving. I really want to get pictures of my current flat too. I can’t wait to go to Ikea soon! Also, I’m happy you’re blogging again. :)

Leave a Reply

