I, Claudia.

I’ve seen a lot of Babysitters Club nostalgia floating around the interwebs these days. After a serendipitous convo with my best squirrel friend about our fav BSC member Claudia Kishi, we decided that a weekly Kishi-inspired outfit should be the most appropriate thing to do.

Who is Claudia Lynn Kishi? Please read this comic illustrated by Yumi Sakugawa for a succinct introduction. Asian-American girls are still rare in the media these days so it was pretty cool to have someone to look up to back in the day. Claudia wasn’t the stereotypical Asian nerd* but a junk-food loving, artistic fashionista who didn’t really care about school and loved Nancy Drew books. (i.e. ALMOST me.) My favorite part of the comic is Yumi’s imagination of present-day Claudia.

Claudia tends to wear a lot of baggy sweaters and leggings which is totally inappropriate in steamy Hong Kong weather. I made a mood board of something she’d probably wear in the summertime:

Screen shot 2013-04-27 at 10.00.11 PM

I found those exact shades in Thailand. Sadly, I own nothing else.

My take:

photo

Outfit deets

  • Cardigan: Rodarte for Target
  • Top: h&m
  • Skirt: BB Dakota via Crossroads
  • Socks: Uniqlo
  • Shoes: black chucks

The top was the defining point for my Kishi outfit. It has lemurs on it! And toucans!

Other Kishi must-haves: the side ponytail, a messy room, a sparkly manicure, and a friendship bracelet:

photo (1)

For more BSC fun, The Baby-Sitters Club: Where Are They Now?

*Alas, big sister Janine Kishi filled that role. :p
Leave a Reply

