TMN: The Vertical Ray of the Sun (2000)

This week was my turn to initiate the cooking, and I had a hankering for Vietnamese spring rolls (or summer rolls, as some people know them by). That meant Miglepuff picked the movie this week:

0(source)

A random selection on her part, and a good one at that (though she seemed less interested than I was). It’s a simple tale following the love lives of three sisters who own a café. Visually stunning to watch with a lovely soundtrack. I’ve never been to Vietnam before but this really sold Hanoi for me. All of the characters lived in airy and colorful homes. It gave off of the perfectly lazy, tropical vibe. Since the culture is pretty traditional, the women spent their days either working at the café, at home, or preparing meals. The men in the film led rather artistic lives—one husband is a photographer, the other a writer, and the brother is an actor. All of the characters are involved in some sort of relationship drama. The gossipy twists and turns had me sitting up in my seat.

The dialog was rather poetic and some scenes felt like paintings. The movie is very slow paced so if you’re not comfortable with quietness or getting caught up in family dramas, this film is probably not for you. While this won’t be a favorite of mine, I’ve already recommended it to others. 3 out of 5 stars.

Since Miglepuff didn’t reveal the movie until the night of, I decided to dress as a spring roll since I couldn’t find any other inspiration for my outfit. Colors were key!

Dress: Zara
Shoes: H&M
Necklace: Cotton On Kids
Green eyeshadow: Coastal Scents
Not pictured: Electric red lipstick from Topshop
Bag: ACO Bookstore

The best part: the spring rolls! I followed this recipe to make them.

The hardest part was rolling them up. I recommend watching a youtube video. I’m not very dexterous when it comes to doing/making things so my rolls wound up being on the smaller side. Miglepuff was a natural and managed to make bigger rolls, even though I had complained that the rice sheet roll was unusually small.

The peanut sauce stole the show! We didn’t follow the recipe strictly because we were missing some ingredients, but it came out fantastic. In the recipe, it just calls for hoisin sauce and crushed peanuts, but we also added peanut butter (1:1 ratio), and I think it gave it a pretty authentic flavor. Dunno if that was the authentic way though. Either way, I’m adding Vietnamese spring rolls to my (rather limited) dinner repetoire!

Leave a Reply

